- Quinnipiac hires Baker Dunleavy as men’s basketball coach
- South Carolina ends Quinnipiac’s tournament run in Sweet 16
- Quinnipiac acrobatics and tumbling dominates Glenville State
- Quinnipiac women’s basketball takes on South Carolina in Sweet 16
- Column: Another game, another hero
- Quinnipiac women’s basketball advances to Sweet 16
- Harvard ends Quinnipiac men’s ice hockey season in Lake Placid
- Chronicle Sports Staff makes March Madness picks
- Multicultural Suite to open in Student Center
- Assistant director of OFSL to resign on March 10
New alcohol policies for 2001-2002
There have been a few changes for at Quinnipiac for the 2001-2002 school year. These changes include a new classroom building in Pine Grove, seniors living off campus, and, in time, a new dorm by the Ledges. Another one of the biggest changes is that of the alcohol policy.
There are two different policies this year, one for people that are under 21, and one for people that are 21 and over.
If a person under 21 is caught drinking on campus, their first violation includes a $100 fine, a letter of warning, five hours of community service, and the chance of a judicial hearing. The community service is broken down into three hours of substance abuse education, and two hours of an Alcohol Awareness program.
The second violation results in a judicial hearing, a letter, a $200 fine, substance abuse education class, discipline probation for one semester, a mandatory referral to a professional, parental notification, and possible removal from the residential halls.
If you are caught a third time, there will be a $300 dollar fine, suspension from residence halls for a minimum of four weeks, and referral to a Alcohol Awareness program.
If you are over 21, the first violation includes a $75 fine, five hours of community service, and a possible judicial hearing.
Second violation includes a judicial hearing, a letter, and a $150 fine, substance abuse education class, discipline probation for one semester, a mandatory referral to a professional, parental notification, and possible removal from the residential halls.
The third violation includes, a $225 dollar fine, suspension from residence halls for up a minimum of four weeks, and a referral for alcohol assessments.
The fines that a student is subject to must be paid within two weeks of the violation. If the fine is not paid, a $25 late charge will be sent to the student’s home. The violations stated above are the minimum sanctions that a student can receive for all violations. Other sanctions include expulsion, dismissal, and suspension.
There has also been a change in how much alcohol can be brought onto the campus.
If a person is 21 years of age, he or she is allowed to have one 24 case of beer present in their dorm, one bottle of hard alcohol, or three bottles of wine.
Other changes include no more registered or unregistered large parties on campus. Kegs are also strictly prohibited, and no alcohol related paraphernalia can be given out on campus.